Chilling Romance / Spellbound 2011 (Movie Review)


spellbound1

Jo-goo, a street magician (Lee Min-ki), notices a miserable looking girl, Yeo-ri (Son Ye-jin), in the audience during one of his performances, and she winds up being the inspiration for his “Horror magic show.” The show became a runaway success almost overnight and Jo-goo in turn, is now a successful stage magician with a model girlfriend. Yeo-ri works for Jo-goo, playing the specter in his show. Forward to almost a year later, the darkness inside her, something her fellow colleagues sense, keeps her from truly connecting with them. When Jo-goo’s attempt to include Yeo-ri in a staff dinner finally succeeds, hilarious disaster ensues when she ends up blindingly drunk. Jo-goo calls Yeo-ri the next morning to sort things out, but when the phone disconnects with a weird sound, he decided to drop by her place for a visit instead. There, Jo-goo met and engages in a game of hide-and-seek with a ghost child, which then scared the bejesus out of him later that night. As the two of them spent more time together, developing a fast friendship, Yeo-ri confesses the long story behind her gray, wan face. (*)

chiling-romance-spellbound-korean-movie-3It’s a Korean movie again! lol. So, I watched this yesterday afternoon coz yeah I got bored again (what a bum life!!) but I actually planned to go outside the house and find job somewhere, but unfortunately, I fell on the stairs, (take note: I’m on the last step) which caused me to have sprain in my right ankle. Stupid right? I know, I know. Well, going back to the movie, it’s a Horror-Romantic-Comedy or whatever you may call it.

Spellbound_korean_movie-5

I don’t want to give spoilers about the movie (if you haven’t watch it yet) but I am telling you, some scenes are shocking! My heart almost jumped out. lol. Oehmgie. Especially when the lady ghost is appearing. I don’t know if it’s the sound effect, the make up or I am such a coward that time, (coz I’m the only one watching in the room, while my sister and her friends are in the living room, laughing out loud etc etc.)

vlcsnap-2012-04-16-14h47m56s123See the picture above? It’s the elevator part. Well uh, I can’t find a scarier picture of the girl but her make up (being the ghost) was awesome! heehee.

chiling-romance-spellbound-korean-movie-4

So uhm the ratings! Wala na kasi akong masabi pa. lol. 7/10 stars! I can’t say that it’s a must watch but the movie has this 3 package I am looking for – 1) Romance. 2) Thrill/Suspense. and 3) Heartbreaking lines (speech or sort of)…(?) Hehehe! And… I’m going to color now a drawing I made yesterday night. Til the next post Worpy! :)

Leave a Reply

