Fathomless by Jackson Pearce (Book Review)


tumblr_micojmbLhn1rk0uano1_500

Celia Reynolds is the youngest in a set of triplets and the one with the least valuable power. Anne can see the future, and Jane can see the present, but all Celia can see is the past. And the past seems so insignificant — until Celia meets Lo. Lo doesn’t know who she is. Or who she was. Once a human, she is now almost entirely a creature of the sea — a nymph, an ocean girl, a mermaid — all terms too pretty for the soulless monster she knows she’s becoming. Lo clings to shreds of her former self, fighting to remember her past, even as she”s tempted to embrace her dark immortality. When a handsome boy named Jude falls off a pier and into the ocean, Celia and Lo work together to rescue him from the waves. The two form a friendship, but soon they find themselves competing for Jude”s affection. Lo wants more than that, though. According to the ocean girls, there”s only one way for Lo to earn back her humanity. She must persuade a mortal to love her … and steal his soul.”

Okay, so this is a book review. So let’s start. (I really want the book!! ><)

Names and Personalities/Attitudes: The names, the names of the “ocean girls” were actually cool. I really love Key’s(Julia’s) name and of course Lo/Nadia. The triplets names (Anne, Jane, Celia) were kinda common but their personalities, when you read the book are perfect to them. But I don’t understand myself why I keep seeing Saoirse Ronan in my head while reading Celia’s POV. haha! Is it because they’re blonde? Eeh…

Settings: Since I love to be at the shore… always, I kinda envy Celia and Nadia/Lo because they can go there whenever they want. The settings, near the ocean, by the pier, near the church, it’s perfect.

Plot: The story’s about mermaids, or so I thought, well, at least they have lovely voice and cool skin color! lol and how did they became like that, and why did they forget the past, and what will they become in future. I also love the fact that the two protagonist in the story, Nadia/Lo and Celia, a girl who can’t remember her past and a girl who can read memories, have met! How cool.

Lessons: Too many to mention! *u*

Reaction: It’s a good book~ I started reading it last night and I can’t help not to finish it. I spent my whole day, though I should be doing much more important things than reading, but I just can’t let go of my cellphone (cause I dl it thru ebook, but promise to buy the book when I have money!!!). I recommend this book! Especially if you love fantasy and the ocean! :)

P.S. Sorry for not posting here much, Worpy! I’ve been busy these past few days. But don’t worry, I’ll update you with my drawings, later!

P.P.S. I’ll start to idolize Jackson Pearce. Will read some of his books, now!! 

One thought on “Fathomless by Jackson Pearce (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

