You Are The Apple Of My Eye (Movie Review)


apple-of-my-eye1

You Are The Apple Of My Eye was based on the semi-autobiographical novel of the same name by Taiwanese author Giddens Ko, who also directed this movie. Starring  Ko Chen-tung as Ko Ching-teng, a prankster and a mischievous student who eventually becomes a writer and Michelle Chen as Shen Chia-yi, an honor student who is very popular amongst the boys in her class. (*)

2011829122547appleeye

It’s a story about bringing back the memories of the past, remembering the feeling and moments with your first love, and realizing that true love doesn’t mean that lovers should end up being together.

you-are-the-apple-of-my-eye-still

This movie breaks my heart into million pieces. It’s a perfect movie to watch on this perfect Valentine’s Day for singles like me. But that doesn’t mean that story is about bitterness or something. Actually, the movie taught me the consequences of loving somebody. And it’s true, that when you love someone, it’s not about how you feel, it’s not about what will happen., and it’s not about receiving back the love that you are giving — It’s about loving without desiring anything in return and cherishing the chance of loving someone.

You-Are-the-Apple-of-My-Eye-Giddens-Ko-Taiwanese-movie-Zhendong-Ke-and-Michelle-Chen-playfighting-620x

tumblr_mc2y8rkl3w1qb3w92o5_1280

When watching the movie, I can’t refrain myself from smiling and also remembering my high school years. I super miss those —  the “hoity-toity” times with your friends when your crush are passing, the stolen glances to your first love, the sweet and memorable moments together with the love of your life, those nonsense and little fights, those small reasons of cooling off, and specially the time when you both decided to end it up.

you are the apple of my eye 那些年, 我们一起追的女孩

One thing I learned in the story  is that… In love, you’ll get hurt and lose hope. You’ll try to move on and forget, but in the end, no matter what happens, you’ll always love and care for that person. 

shshfh

And this.. is one of my favorite scene: “Do you believe in parallel universe? Maybe in that universe we are together.” and the part… “Thank you for liking me.” and “Thank you for letting me like you all those years.” Hnggggg~ I’m crying now. :( And… the most saddest part, was remembering and that flashback moments! Damit I cried like a river!

wedding-dress1

I really thought they will end up marrying each other but yeah, you’ll never know what will happen in the end. :(

“When you really like a girl, you’d be happy for her. when you see her finding her Mr. Right, you will want them to be together and to live happily ever after.” – Ko-Teng

Still, it was a happy ending, they both found their “own” meaning of a happy ending. P.S. You. Should. Watch it if you still haven’t!!! :D

2 thoughts on “You Are The Apple Of My Eye (Movie Review)

  1. Really Awesome Movie … I’m Indian and I don’t Understand the language but sometimes i feel we don’t need to hear things we can understand by seeing them…. It’s a great film I love how the movie goes up … The best part is the ending were they kiss each other and remember those year together… i wish they married each other but still it gives a strong message than ending up with someone whom we love isn’t true love , true love is seeing the person whom we love happy… Their happiness makes us happy…. Atlast i would say it’s a must watch movie.

Leave a Reply

